Stillwater Trout & Solunar Influence – Fact or Fiction?

stenacron

Reaction score
No anglers in my family until I came along. Not even sure why I wanted so badly to go fishing at an early age, nor why I took to the sport with such passion. I basically got my dad and uncle into the sport as well as my nephews, nieces, and eventually my daughter… meeting like-minded friends along the way to round out my fishing circle. Being a self-taught angler in the pre-internet days meant that you acquired your knowledge from books/magazines and applied this to your situation. My single greatest source of information came from the pages of In’fisherman. Why? Because they took a very scientific approach to the sport and this really appealed to me. Their F+P+L=S formula was pure genius and I am 100% certain that I became a better angler for having studied that magazine for years.

Sorry for the long intro… now to the point… SOLUNAR TABLES were included in every issue of In’fisherman (and other periodicals). Using sun and moon data the best DAYS and, within that, the best TIMES of the day when fish would be feeding were predicted. OK, spoiler alert on the best DAYS… it’s the day of the new and full moon for each month with diminishing returns over the three days before and after. Within every day however there are still forecasted major and minor times for peak fish activity.