Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1
  1. Default Your experience with these rods...

Hello all,
    Im trying to get into this 2 handed casting game and I am comparing 2 rods for Alaska silver salmon trip this coming August. Having no experience with them I would appreciate your comments.

Beulah platinum 6wt switch rod
    G Loomis pro4x 7 wt switch rod

I am also very new to learning to cast this type of rod.
    Thanks for any info you would like to offer.
    Neal

Default Re: Your experience with these rods...

The tapers on rods in the Pro4x series are similar to what is found in NRX. The bigger two handers, from what I remember, are crisp but not too fast and they have good recovery. I don't have first-hand experience with the switch rods in the series. But if comparing just between these two rods, the 7 would seem like it might have an edge over the 6 because silvers can put up a fight

3. Default Re: Your experience with these rods...

I have been told that silvers are a lot of fun. I an certainly looking forward to it. I appreciate all comments. I probably should just quit thinking this to death and just buy a rod and practice practice practice. I also wonder if I could utilize skagit lines on my single hand rods to help in casting large streamers all day. I see a lot of folks are doing that too. It seems to be just a powered up roll cast as I see it. Thanks.

Streams in the GWNF, SNP,Potomac, Rappahanock and Shenandoah Rivers, Exploring NY and PNW rivers

I can just tell you my limited experience with Beulah. I have one of the new G2 Platinum Spey rods(8/9 wt)which I got in September to for steelhead and salmon. G2 Platinum Graphene Spey Rods - Beulah Fly Rods