Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Casting dilemma

1. Default Casting dilemma

Hello
    First post here. I am a newbie to fly fishing. This summer I thought I didn't have enough frustrating hobbies( golf, hunting dog, girlfriend)
    So I decided I would try fly fishing.
    I have been practicing in back yard w my
    7'6" 3 wt ( almost everything I do is small creeks- smallmouth. Panfish....)

I can throw the yarn pretty accurately overhead and sidearm about 30-40 ft.
    Dry flys not a problem.
    Put me in my favorite creek and all is lost- rush cast, terrible loops- total spaz.
    Fish are having a good laugh- I think the ones I catch are sympathy fish.

So today I am out at creek at a nice little pool that holds smallies most of the time. I start w a black # wooly bugger- no problems but no fish. I decide to use a white red streamer. I don't know what it was with this but all technique disappeared. Loops were open and awful, distance and accuracy gone.
    Question is is there a diff technique to throwing streamers?

Default Re: Casting dilemma

Not really a "technique" so much...

Your problem was likely the rod here. I am not sure what kind of streamer you were throwing, but 3wts and streamers don't really go together. They are bigger, heavier, and more wind resistant. All things that make a 3wt quiver.
    Less likey, more green dots
    BrookFieldAngler.com

3. Likes N/A, fredaevans liked this post

Was there much of a difference in the size and weight of the wooly bugger vs the streamer? Flies that have about the same mass and the same air resistance should cast about the same.

I laso presume you cut back your leader when you changed from dry flies to the wooly bugger. A larger diameter section of the leader is needed to turn over the larger flies.
    Regards,

Silver

"Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought"..........Szent-Gyorgy

mridenour Guest