Best way to straighten mono running line?

boyandhisdogs

Reaction score
The title pretty much says it all. I'm new to this shooting stuff and every time I take my two-handed cannon out the mono running line is always coiled like a spring and cuts my cast in half and I usually end up with a florescent pink birds nest in the water in front of me. :mad:

I've tried the old "pull it through your wallet" trick as well as pull it from under the sole of my boot and neither one works well enough. For what it's worth, I've got 80# Frog Hair.

I'd rather not buy another line unless what I've got it beyond saving. I'm a 20 year old college student with two part time jobs. I'd rather make due with what I've already got and not have to buy anything.

Thanks for reading.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Hello and welcome to the forum,

No one I know is still using mono shooting line for the reasons you have stated. I use long belly lines with integrated vinyl coated back line so I can't even offer a suggestion of what to shop for. Yes I read the part about not having much money but you may need to squirrel a few dollars whenever possible and get into one of the braided running / shooting lines.

Again, welcome to the group and I hope you'll stick around a bit.

Ard

boyandhisdogs

Reaction score
Hello and welcome to the forum,

No one I know is still using mono shooting line for the reasons you have stated. I use long belly lines with integrated vinyl coated back line so I can't even offer a suggestion of what to shop for. Yes I read the part about not having much money but you may need to squirrel a few dollars whenever possible and get into one of the braided running / shooting lines.

Again, welcome to the group and I hope you'll stick around a bit.

Ard