fly fishing with parkinsons?

leftytyro

Reaction score
Hi All,
This is for those of you who, like me, are having to figure out how to continue my passion for fly fishing with the reality of a diagnosis of Parkinson's Disease. Fortunately, I'm considered "high functioning", but hand tremor and arm ratcheting are affecting my developing casting ability. I'm wondering if those of you who may be similarly afflicted might have developed any strategies or workarounds you could share. I dread the idea of having to give up a sport I'm just beginning to treasure.
Thanks

spm

Reaction score
I can't help with your question, lefty, but I applaud your courage and dedication.

steve

caddis75

Reaction score
lefty,

I found this resource that may help;

The Fading Angler: Parkinson's

I took care of my Mom for a bunch of years so I commend your desire to keep going. I'd suggest looking for ways to tie easier knots, maybe pre-tie rigs when your tremors are low. Streamer fishing would be something I think would be less affected by your tremors. I'm wondering if there is a way to brace your rod against your chest once you cast? Maybe shorten your leaders to make it easier to turn over? Or consider rods that are softer and more forgiving? Also, the old nymph cast where you just lop it upstream would seem to be less affected by tremors.

Good luck and tight lines.

leftytyro

Reaction score
Gentlemen,
Thanks for your encouragement and suggestions. I've been spending a considerable (and frustrating) time practicing knot tying and have pre-rigged leader/tippet/fly setups before I get on the water. Nymph fishing is also something I'll be doing more of. I'm also trying to learn to cast using my offside (Parkinson free) hand and arm. Of course, line control and hauling are a ***** trying to use my Parkinson's afflicted hand. jigsup's suggestion to look into Rexfly's adaptive Casting System is much appreciated. It looks really nifty!
Thanks again

norberttbelz

Reaction score