Furl Girl Leaders

Tracker12

Reaction score
I ordered a couple of sinking leaders from Flygoddess for shad fishing and she sent me a 5 1/2 foot regular leader in for free. I tried it this evening at the pond fishing for bream and bass on my 5/6 wt. This leader fished very nice and cast outstanding. I was able to lay down the line and have the tippet extend nicely. I am a true novice and might not be the best gauge but these leaders helped me. One think I noticed that if I reeled the line in past the leader I could easily cast it out vice having to reach up and pull the line past the tip. Can wait to try the sinking leaders this week.

dorian.ducker

Reaction score
I have a couple of Joni's leader's that I have yet to tie on. I am excited to try them out!

Jimmie

Reaction score
Likewise. Have yet to use mine. I showed it off at our last FF club meeting. It was a big hit. One thing that surprised me was how many experienced fly fishermen were not familiar nor had heard of furled leaders. Are these new to fly fishing?

axle27

Reaction score
I have used furled leaders just recently for the first time...unfortunately, they are not Joni's.

With the possible exception of nymphing, I'll never go back to tapered leaders.

mojo

Reaction score
Likewise. Have yet to use mine. I showed it off at our last FF club meeting. It was a big hit. One thing that surprised me was how many experienced fly fishermen were not familiar nor had heard of furled leaders. Are these new to fly fishing?
Furled leaders have been around since silk fly lines (maybe even before). They were first made by furling horses tail hair. Long time ago. Or something like that. Basically dropped off the face of the earth when gut leaders came around. Then nylon monofiliment came into being and both were forgot. Until about 10 years ago when I got my first leader from Jim Cramer in California. Finally I got Joni to start making them after I heard and bought a DVD from Kathy Scott on building your own.