Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  38
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Default Making the Transition to Tenkara

So I started reading about Tenkara after seeing a TV show where they fished this way. is it an easy transition from "traditional" fly fishing? I am struggling to see how it would be as creative or enjoyable?

Default Re: Making the Transition to Tenkara

It's fun, it's interesting, it has a very long history, it is very efficient, it is pretty easy to do. It improves your stalking skills which are applicable to Western fly fishing too. The dead drifts you can accomplish are spectacular. It's fast, simple and basic, What's not to like.

3. Likes c web, N/A, pszy22 liked this post

After a couple of weeks you'll stop reaching for the non-existent reel.

I concur on the stalking. Since I started playing around with fixed-line rods, my regular fishing has improved. I am much more aware of where I am in the river.

Quote Originally Posted by patrick62 View Post
    After a couple of weeks you'll stop reaching for the non-existent reel.

I concur on the stalking. Since I started playing around with fixed-line rods, my regular fishing has improved. I am much more aware of where I am in the river.

Haha!! That would be me trying to adjust the drag or something. I want to get one for my wife so we can stalk some Brook trout.

Tenkara is a blast, super simple, easy to learn and very effective. For small to medium streams it is perfect.

james w 3 3 Guest

Quote Originally Posted by c web View Post
    Tenkara is a blast, super simple, easy to learn and very effective. For small to medium streams it is perfect.
    Not just small to medium streams, there's a plethora of videos on YouTube showing guys fishing substantial sized rivers with a tenkara rod. Just like with traditional fly gear, you size your tenkara rod to the water and fish.

8. Likes pszy22 liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by jschaffer View Post