Tangled leader

gpwhitejr

Reaction score
I am new to tenkara, and actually I have a keiryu rod. For line storage I bought these EZ Keeper clip thingies...

Fuji EZ Keepers

...and wrap the line/leader (about 11 feet of #4 level line and a 4 foot 5X mono leader) figure-8 fashion for storage, or when going from one place to another. But more often than not when I unwrap the line, the leader forms a hopelessly tangled mess. How do y'all prevent that? Do I just need to be more careful? Or is a spool type line holder better, like this:

Tenkara Line Holder

This looks interesting too; does anyone here use one of these?

Tenkara USA

This guy came up with an elegant solution to , though I wonder if I would still have the tangling issue:

YouTube

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Hello,

To prevent coiling and reduce tangle possibilities simply pull the monofilament lines through your hand gripping it tightly enough to produce heat friction. It may take several pulls depending on the extent of coiling. As you pull and can feel the heat in the area where mono and skin are in contact pause while maintaining tension on the line. Essentially you are looking to heat up the material and while taunt allowing it to cool in a straight position.

That has been working for me for a very long time.

gpwhitejr

Reaction score
Thanks. I think what caused my problem is that when I "unclip" the EZKeepers the line sort of bounces off into a bird nest. What I need to do is leave them clipped and carefully unwind the line. For moving from one place to another, standard fly rod 1, tenkara 0.

By the way, physicists talk about the four fundamental forces of nature, but everyone knows there are actually six:

1. The strong force.
2. The weak force.
3. The electromagnetic force.
4. Gravity.
5. The force which causes any long flexible linear objects (string, fishing line, rubber bands, earbud wires, etc.) to form a tangled mass if left in close proximity to each other.