In need of fishing spots near by.

babalu

Reaction score
Hello, I'm just getting into fishing again and was hoping to find some fishing spots near by. I'm in Minneapolis and most of the time my friend and I get out we only have maybe 3 hours if we're lucky. So if any of you could point us in the right direction where we might be able to catch some decent fish. He's got waders I'm limited to shoreline and docks. I'm also pretty new to fly fishing so casting around people still makes me mess up a lot, so crowded docks are quite a challenge for me...

Thank You for any insight
Paul

Last edited:

babalu

Reaction score
Spent a couple hours at lake of the isles under the bridge by channel, and cedar lake boat landing. Both spots looked liked they had signs of promise, but didn't turn out much.

ted4887

Reaction score
Babalu,

You're on the right track with fishing the chain of lakes in Minneapolis. There are a ton of options available to you. Don't overlook fishing the Mississippi River, or any other lake in that area. You have hundreds of possibilities.

What type of rod setup do you have right now? Any specific species you're looking to target?

It's a good time of year to be a fly fisherman in warm water fisheries. Right now, fish are starting to put the feedbag on in shallow waters. The opportunities are there to catch walleye, pike, bass, and muskie if you're geared up for that. Also, pay attention when you're walking those shorelines for feeding carp. Carp are a lot of fun to catch, and will definitely help you hone your new fishing skill.

Also, if you're looking for nearby lakes, and public launch information check out the DNR lake finder. http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/lakefind/index.html

babalu

Reaction score
we're both using Cabelas Rls outfits 8wt, and we'd like to catch pike, bass and maybe a muskie if lucky enough.