Black Hills, of S. Dakota?

brownbass

Reaction score
I was just sitting here thinking that all of the really good trout fishing out west can't just be in Colorado, Wyoming and the YSNP. I bet South Dakota has some great fishing. I know it has some fine Pheasant Hunting.
Can someone clue me in on good streams to fish in the Silver City, Rapid City area? Rapid City has some fond memories for me so I would definitely be stopping there.

Thanks,
Bill

brownbass

Reaction score
Thanks, Larry,
I am thinking of SD as an alternative to YSNP. Just a way to avoid the crowds. Not as a replacement, that experience is certainly something I want to as a fisherman.

Bill

Last edited:

dakotakid

Reaction score
I was there in June for the first time and though I have very little experience trout fishing, had a great time and caught plenty of fish. Wrote up a trip report that might be of interest:

http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/f...341-black-hills-south-dakota-trip-report.html

Definitely recommend you stop by the Dakota Angler to pick up flies that are working at the time. Also, they have a very nice selection of fly tying materials in case that is also of interest.

They regularly post fishing updates on their blog, which you definitely should check out.
Black Hills Fishing Blog - Black Hills Fly Fishing

Good luck!

brownbass

Reaction score
Your trip report just makes me want to explore that area further. Very good report.
Next time you are in Missouri and head to The Current River near Montauk, try the fishing below the park. The state releases Brown trout in the river and some times (fall-winter) the fishing can be very good and there are some good fish in the river, and they are wiser than the stockers in the park. You will need a trout stamp outside the park.

Bill

kevind62

Reaction score