loomis shore stalker or short stix?

boilermaker41

Reaction score
I am relatively new to fly fishing, I live on a creek that is full of smallmouths and i am wanting a new challenge instead of using spinning gear so i am taking up fly fishing. I have been to the fly shop and cast the loomis shore stalker 7wt and the 7/8 wt short stix and i can not decide which would be best. The creek i live on is about as wide as a two lane road and has a pretty heavy canopy above in some areas. This will be a dedicated smallie rod so which should i get? Thanks for the help.

chicagojohn

Reaction score
I've contemplated this question as well, although not with the shore stalker, but with the short stix. The 7/8 is supposed to be fantastic; however, the 8/9may help present larger flies.

I've contemplated buying one; however, I can't get past losing some of the inherit benefits of a longer rod, such as: mending ability for current, as well as the ability to better execute a float and fly presentation, which is often used in smallmouth fishing outside of the warmer months...... longer rods are better for indicator fishing, and the float and fly is a larger method of indicator fishing. Longer rods traditionally roll casts a little better, which may actually fit your situation well. I do like shorter fly rods, but haven't gone below 8 feet, and I haven't gone short for heavier weighted rods that utilize larger flies and/or sinking lines or tips.

Scott's new Meridian series also has an 8'4" - 8 weight that is supposed to be a fantastic option. John Duncan of Telluride Angler out of Colorado has done a nice job summarizing the benefits of this model if you google or search their site.

For my money, I'd go short stix or upgrade to the shorter Meridian, with consideration for a full length (9 foot) Pro4x, NRX, or Meridian.