Trout to Bass

rjw

Reaction score
Living in Utah, and learning all I know here all that I have ever fly fished for is trout. I may be getting an internship back home in Ohio next summer and knowing the lack of good trout fishing I was looking into picking up a heavier rod and going for bass. Anyone have any good general tips on the transfer from trout to bass, where to fish, times of day, etc? I was planning on going mostly streamers, any go-to flies to begin tying during these cold winter months? Being that I wasn't much into fishing when I was younger I have very little bass experience and don't really know much about how to fish for them. Thanks in advance guys!

jml43

Reaction score
on the golf course fishing in Charlotte NC
I really don't trout fish at all. But I do bass fish a lot. Streamers that I would use would be the deceiver or clouser minnows. i usually make these about 3" long. Sometimes right around 2" with a smaller hook and catch crappie and bass. I always use white, red, lots of flash. I always had better luck with a red head and eyes on my streamers. Hope this helps.

SkipS

Reaction score
I agree with the gurglers and a 6wt.I throw poppers 90% of the time but I use wolly buggers also.Black,white or olive all work and I tie most of them with estaz.Instead of marabou,tie some with saddle hackles for a tail.You might also want to upline a 6wt rod with a 7wt line to make casting easier.Bass will hit all day lohg but I do best from about 9am-noon and the last 2 hours of daylight.

bigjim5589

Reaction score