3wt Help.

angelo1987

Reaction score
Been fly fishing for Gill's on a 5wt (want to save it for trout) but what to get a 3wt. Im still a beginner to fly fishing so if I get a 3wt what size flies would i'll be able to cast and what size leader/tippet be suitable for a 3wt. 5x, 6x, 7x, 8x?

wabi

Reaction score
I use 3X & 5X tippet most of the time.
3X for size 10-12, and 5X for size 14-16.
I rarely use anything smaller than a #16 or larger than a #10 for 'gills.

I do make it a habit when tying to avoid getting my flies too heavy, though. I prefer wet flies that sink slowly instead of plummeting to the bottom. For example, I'll use bead chain eyes instead of lead eyes most of the time. Casting #10 flies is probably pushing the limit for the 3wt.

flymark

Reaction score
It depends on how far you want/need to cast. Bigger flies can be cast shorter ranges. I typically fish flies from size 8 and smaller with such rods. Bushy, wind resistant flies require more effort than sparser, streamlined patterns.

You can fish a #10 cork, deer hair, or foam popper very easily with a 3 weight.

#10 bushy dry flies are no problem for me either.

A big factor in fishing these flies is the right leader and tippet combo. You don't need anything more than a 7 foot leader for panfish with a 3 weight.

I typically fish 4X tippet for most fishing, 5X when I go to dry flies or small wets/nymphs from size 14 and smaller. I rarely have to step down to 6X unless I am trout fishing with very, very small flies.

I don't normally bump up to 3X with a light rod either - heck, I rarely fish 3X tippet on my 6 weight - only when fishing heavier flies in the size 4-8 range, depending on the fly. A 4X tippet for a #8 woolly bugger is good for me.

Are there any specific rods you're looking at? How much are you looking to spend?

Poke 'Em

Reaction score
I fish #6 dries (and even lightly weighted streamers) all the time with my 3 wt.

angelo1987

Reaction score