Best line for lake and pond fishing?

cjam93

Reaction score
Hey guys so I do a majority of my fishing for bass and panfish and pretty much always on a lake or pond. Where I live there aren't any rivers or streams to fish close to my house. Anyways would it be better for me to use floating or sinking line? I am very new to fly fishing and heard floating was better for the beginner, but how low can I actually get a fly if it is on floating line? Also what is a good length to make my leader? thanks guys!

grassonfly

Reaction score
well if you really want to know a precise number you can use some fluid dynamics and do upthrust vs gravity. realistically you can get a clouser down to about 10 feet. need it further down? up the dumbbell size

cjam93

Reaction score
Sorry but do you mean 10 ft down while attached to a floating line?

akruss

Reaction score
I use to fish nymphs in small lakes for trout and generally used a slow sink tip unless I was fishing very shallow water in which case I'd go with a floating line. I'm about to try Clouser deep minnows for bass and am planning on using floating lines and probably 9 to 10' fluoro leaders. The difference is the nymphs were small and mostly unweighted. My Clousers are fairly heavily weighted with barbell eyes. Also the up and down diving action is more pronounced/faster with Clousers which is probably easier to do with a floating line unless you really want to get down deep.