Need help: Strategy session for very weedy local pond/lake

jessezm

Reaction score
Hey folks, just joined the forums, seems like there's a great active membership here! I'm in Atlanta and just got a Jackson Coosa kayak to fish out of in local lakes and rivers, and took it out for the first time today to a local park I've heard rumors about and fished a few times.

So I'm new to bass fishing on the fly, and bass fishing in general. It was a nice sunny 60+ degree day and I spent the afternoon paddling around and scoping things out. (I did catch a 1lb-er on a crank bait from the shore a couple weeks ago so I know there are fish willing to play). While drifting around in the standing position I spotted a group of 3-4 very nice sized bass patrolling the shoreline where I had noticed minnows schooling up. Several times I saw some big swirls just below the surface and a few major explosions as well. Im low on flies but I tried a few things, both topwater (stimulator, caddis, kent's stealth bomber, chartreuse popper) and sub-surface (lefty's deceiver, RLD, BH hare's ear) and didn't get any takers.

So here's my question: how should I be targeting these bass this time of year, now that I have access with my kayak? We are probably talking about a 4-5 acre pond/lake(?), and in many places the bottom is totally covered with a single species of weed that is thick as carpet. So if I'm fishing streamers, anything deeper than 1-2 feet in most places and I get hung up, though there is one section of very deep water (compared to the rest) that seems to be weed-free. There is tons of great structure along the shoreline with downed limbs and entire submerged pines, and an island in the northern half of the lake. This seems like a very healthy piece of water, despite being in the inner city (pretty shady part of atlanta just two miles from my house...)