Need Help w/bluegill flies what to make

jason k

Reaction score
Hi,
I am picking back up fly fishing after 28 years I was 10-12 years old the last time fly fished now I am 40. Go too Flies on here too find the story about me.Anyways I am from west central Iowa. I am going to only be fishing bluegills for now then move into crappie and trout.. I was wondering what would be a good fies are good for bluegills.I know what I was a kid my dad used a hornbrug alot once and awhile a black wooly bugger both a size 12. I am just starting out making flies I do not need to hard for flies to make right now.I plan on making the hornbrug and the black wooly bugger.What other colors should I tie in the wooly bugger? ..I would like too also know what flies work good with bluegills. I will be fish spooky fish in still waters..( Gravel pits and farm ponds.)

Thank you
Jason

fq13

Reaction score
Welcome! And I really hate it when I go to a forum and some old fart says "Go to the FAQ section, newbie". But here? Over the last few weeks, those of us who are blue gill addicts have started, I think at last count, 4 separate threads on this very topic. I would strongly recommend reading those. No need to search, just look in the general section, the warm water section and the fly tying forum and there they are. But, since I don't want to send you home empty handed, we've been tying mini-clousers, buggers in olive and black, a new fly pattern in pink that IA trouter swears by, a cool old school foam spider (here's the link: "MY FAVORITE BLUEGILL FLY - Fly Angler's OnLine)

And basically discussing all things bluegill. So welcome aboard and don't think this is a trout snob board, far from it. pick a thread and jump in!
PS I'd start with the "Fly vices are a good investment, need help with bluegill flies" thread in general discussion.

argail

Reaction score
Hi jason k