Musky on a Fly

zippy83

Reaction score
Hello all,

This is a step into unfamiliar territory and I am hoping that I could get some guidance on this one.

I have been fishing for Muskies in the Midwest for over 14 years, and thought that it would be cool to see one of these apex predators being caught on a fly rod. A friend of mine got me hooked on to this, but both of us never attempted to go after musky on a fly rod. This is something totally new to me and I would like to get some input on a few things before I go and buy the wrong stuff.

I did a lot of research and see that just like with a lot of other things it comes down to personal preference. According to the research I have done any 9wt or 10wt rod will do the job. As for the reels I see some mixed reviews, some people say the reel only holds the line, other people say you need stopping power which I tend to agree. As for the line I read that it all depends what type of water you are fishing.

The lakes around me are usually on average 8-30 feet deep. I tend to look for muskies in heavy cover such as weeds and flooded timber. Usually those areas are very shallow and the clearance between the weeds and the water surface is anywhere from 6" to 14". I think that I am getting hang up on this Fly-Line subject more than on anything I have mentioned before.

The lakes I fish are not very good top water lakes. I mostly fish these lakes with shallow crank baits, bucktails, spinner baits, and gliders. The only time I go deep is in late fall and winter when the Muskies move in deep following the schools of bait fish. It is safe to say that I would fly fish for muskies during spring and early fall when the fish is in the shallows.

Any suggestions?
Thanks
Zipp

williamhj

Reaction score
Here's my musky on a fly