Nets for large mouth bass fishing on ponds....

freakaccident

Reaction score
I will start off saying that I am new to the sport.

I need a net. I am hauling bass in through heavy cover and when they get to the shore I need to get them out of the water without falling in myself. In the old days, like 2 weeks ago, I used to fish with a spinning rod and Power Pro line. I could lob a hog up onto the bank without much trouble and if a big fatty was on the line jumping in so I didn't lose it was always an option. Not so with fly fishing. I need a way to get bass from the water to the shore without breaking my leader or going swimming. :icon_mrgr

What do you suggest? I was looking at this:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HRLL3PA/_encoding=UTF8?coliid=I3RS6QGYLJHP7F&colid=Q8A6Y55996OH

ottosmagic13

Reaction score
It's not that a net like that won't work; I have one it works just fine. However, you might miss the longer handle of a boat net.

I'm usually wearing waders or wet wading so it's not a problem something like below might be better for you, especially in the staying dry department:

https://goo.gl/xaaf6h - telescopic handle boat net

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G928A using Tapatalk

ia_trouter

Reaction score
You ever see Bill Dance or Hank Parker use a net for a Hawg Bass even once? :D

I'm just teasing. It is a bit trickier with a 9ft willow branch for a rod isn't it? I still lip them but it's dicey at times. Welcome to the forum.

Dewayne

freakaccident

Reaction score
You ever see Bill Dance or Hank Parker use a net for a Hawg Bass even once? :D

I'm just teasing. It is a bit trickier with a 9ft willow branch for a rod isn't it? I still lip them but it's dicey at times. Welcome to the forum.

Dewayne