Chain Pickerel

spanky

Reaction score
I do believe in Texas we call them Grinnel, why I don't know........anyway is there a fly out there that works good on them? I do understand that they react to a lot of flash, hence I have caught them off a spinner bait. Any advice is appreciated, thanks in advance.

kevino

Reaction score
Here in NC they're called Jackfish or Jack Pike.

I'm looking forward to catching some pickerel on the fly (I'm a beginner). I've caught many on med light spinnnig gear with Rapala minnows, in line spinners and plastic worms.

This summer I'm going to try clouser minnows and bass bugs.

I've heard a few fisherman at my local lake say "poke your pliers through the head and throw them on the bank if you catch one". I just don't understand that mentality. These fish are agressive, fight like the dickens and in most cases have some awesome coloration. They're basically little pike and a lot of fun on light tackle.

Heck, I'll let the tournament anglers go after all the bass. I'd be happy hooking into pickerel and carp all day! :icon_cool

Rip Tide

Reaction score
Except for a short period just after ice-out, I can't say that I fish for them much on purpose.
They are very aggressive..... but I wouldn't say that they fight well.
Besides, they're slimey and excel at biting off flies.
When I do fish for them I use flies that are the 'daredevil' colors
Red/white, red/yellow, green/yellow and black.
I use a fly of my own design that's somewhat similar to a 'seaducer' or a tarpon style fly, but tied with the tail 'cocked' for more action.

We'll have ice-out around here in around 3-4 weeks and I'll go out for them a time or two just to get out.
They don't mind the cold and the larger ones seem to be on the prowl early

BigCliff

Reaction score
Fairly sure a Grinnel is actually a Bowfin. Both are found in the same waters, but a Bowfin is a whole 'nother critter altogether.

jdorsey61

Reaction score