Rio Big Nasty for smallmouth?

Jaysop

Reaction score
As a novice I may be putting to much thought into this.

I picked up a TFO impact 6wt for light weight smallmouth fishing on the Broad river in SC and some other LMB fishing locally.

I've been looking at what lines are available and have somewhat narrowed it to Rio Big nasty, Rio smallmouth, and Orvis Hydros HD trout(local shop recommend).

I've had really good results with Rio line in the past some I'm leaning towards that.

Any reason why the Big Nasty line wouldn't be a good choice?

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Study the head design, think on the size & weight of flies you want to cast and the distance you expect to have them land at. Once your casting is up to the level of making a 50 to 60 foot cast I think it will be fine.

Remember the head is 40 foot - your leader should be about 9 feet and your rod will extend in front of you at least 8 feet. That's darn near 60 without any shooting / running line out.

IT_BIGNASTY.jpg

jr spey

Reaction score
As a novice I may be putting to much thought into this.

I picked up a TFO impact 6wt for light weight smallmouth fishing on the Broad river in SC and some other LMB fishing locally.

I've been looking at what lines are available and have somewhat narrowed it to Rio Big nasty, Rio smallmouth, and Orvis Hydros HD trout(local shop recommend).

I've had really good results with Rio line in the past some I'm leaning towards that.

Any reason why the Big Nasty line wouldn't be a good choice?
The Impact is a decent lightweight smallie rod and the Big Nasty throws big flies really well. I don't think you'll like them paired up, though. My choice for that rod would be the Rio Smallie.

sixwtslinger

Reaction score